Review

Nov 9, 2017 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review

 

Apple_tv_4kApple's 5th generation Apple TV, now known as Apple TV 4K, was recently reviewed by David Pogue of the NY Times, rating it the best streaming box on the market. He's right about that.

 Read More

Nov 7, 2017 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review

Iphone_xLet me just start right off with the ugly. There isn't any. Having used the iPhone X all day and night since November 3, hitting it as a power user, there's simply no ugly about iPhone X – it's that good.

As for the bad? If you think I'm going to say "The Notch" think again. As many others have stated, to which I am also a witness, it quickly becomes invisible in the user experience. It matters not, and I simply don't see it. The notch may be marketing fodder for panicking Android hardware makers, but in reality it's an absolute non-issue, and the only thing Samsung can seemingly make fun of. Yet the technology the notch delivers is nothing short of amazing. The only "bad/gripe" I have is with iOS itself and how iPhone X shows the battery life, which displays as a battery icon only. The easiest way to see the battery percentage is to quickly swipe down from the top left corner, or swipe, hold, and push back. It's quick and easy, but it would be trivial for Apple to add a "view percentage" option in Settings. That's it. That's all I've got on anything bad – seriously!

 Read More

Nov 6, 2017 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review

I received my iPhone X early afternoon on November 3rd, and since that time I've been compiling my thoughts on this awesome phone. I'll have a full review later this week, but wanted to get out in front and discuss the best feature/improvement of the iPhone X right now. 

The reality with all iPhones is that the have all had a massive issue (at least for me), in a specific use case. It's been ongoing for generations of iPhones, and while many have complained, nothing has ever been done about it until iPhone X, which finally solves the problem.

 Read More

Oct 12, 2017 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review

Original_iphone_vs_pixel_2With Google putting so much marketing effort into their latest Pixel 2 phones, coupled with dozens of positive reviews, I assumed this may finally be moment where Samsung would be unseated as Android's King. Google, via their latest smartphone hardware and owning Android software design, would be the new Android task master taking on Apple's dominate iPhone lineup. Would this mark the moment iPhone is dethroned? The moment so many in the paid-off tech media have been waiting for?

No. Not even close. In fact, Google's newest Pixel 2 phones may be the laziest products Google has developed in quite some time... I question even using the word "developed."

 Read More

Sep 27, 2017 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review

Apple_tv_4kReviews are now out for the Apple TV 4K, yet most tech journalists are providing a moderate to slanted review against the new device. What really stands out is how journalists are hypocritically treating the new Apple TV 4K.

Since Roku and others have provided 4K capabilities as early as 2015, Apple has been bashed, lashed and flogged for not providing 4K capabilities in the 4th generation Apple TV. Never mind that there was virtually no 4K content available in 2015. Never mind that 4K TV sales only comprised 10.1% of then entire TV sales mix in 2014. Never mind that the total combination of those that had:

 Read More

Sep 19, 2017 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review

Iphone_vs_androidIf you are on the fence as to whether you should consider moving from an Android smartphone to a new iPhone, but still feel comfortable in giving away virtually every ounce of your 4th amendment right to privacy, prefer a slow and out-of-date processor (coupled with inferior camera technology), are comfy cozy wth an ecosystem that has you searching for fragmented cloud solutions between computer, phone, tablet and watch, and love selling your phone for virtually nothing every 2 or 3 years, then another Android phone may be the right fit for your future.

But before you tell me that the latest iPhones really look appealing, please keep in mind that an Android smartphone provides just about everything you shouldn't be looking for in a smartphone, and you may even get an unexpected bonus or two, such as a phone that explodes in your four-year-old's hands or a nice bit of malware that steals your banking information. These are all clever and surprising things an Android phone can deliver – at any time. Thus, if this is what you have come to expect and live with, then an iPhone may be a complete shock to your digital way of life. 

 Read More

Jun 7, 2017 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review

Out of the myriad of announcements Apple put forth on Monday during their 2017 Worldwide Developers Conference, one new technology continues to come back around in my mind time and time again. And yet, I'm not sure if I'm as excited as I am relieved – It's a close call. Files App in iOS for iPad is a game changer. Essentially, Files App is the macOS Finder for iOS. A native file directory shipping with iOS 11 for iPads. Yes! And about time!

T-GAAP's been clamoring for an "AirFinder" (or some form of native Finder for iOS) for years. After all, iOS is a slimed down version of macOS. Apple's mobile operating system has always had a file directory, it's just been hidden from the GUI. Files App for iPad that Apple has, bafflingly so, been holding back for years, may greatly tilt the trajectory of iPad forever.

 Read More

May 30, 2017 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review

Airpod_beautyForget about iPhone 8's edge-to-edge OLED display, 3D camera, IP68 waterproof rating, Touch ID built into the glass, or, or, or... The killer feature for iPhone 8 will be AirPods that ship with the phone as a standard feature. Will this happen? Sorry kids, I don't work on Apple's iPhone product marketing team, nor am I close personal friends with Phil Schiller (although "Uncle Phil" has always seemed pretty cool), so I have no idea if this will actually happen – but it most certainly should.

Analysts have been beating the drum that iPhone 8 will cost over a $1,000 in certain configurations, with starting prices nearing $900. If that's the case, I highly question where the massively increased costs for iPhone 8 are hidden? OLED display vs LCD? No. There is no longer a massive cost delta between the two technologies with Apple's volume. New sensors and Touch ID built into the glass will cost more than Apple's current Touch ID implementation. But when Touch ID was launched in iPhone 5s it was also a costly new feature and Apple didn't jack up the prices for iPhone 5s with Touch ID, rather, Apple held prices and focused on selling more iPhones.

 Read More

Dec 24, 2016 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review

Airpod_beautyThey are being heralded as Apple's best surprise product of 2016 – AirPods. They are being heralded as Apple's ugliest product of 2016 – Airpods. So which is it? Are Airpods great? Yes. Are they ugly? No.

Airpods are virtually identical to to their wired cousins, Apple's EarPods, but for one major factor. Airpods have, rather obviously, no wires. When I first saw them, they looked awkward. After pondering as to why they looked rather odd, the answer became obvious. I'm simply not accustomed to seeing earphones without wires. The answer is really that simple.

 Read More

Dec 6, 2016 — by: E. Werner Reschke
Categories: Review

2016_macbook-pro

How much are you willing to pay for the best? That is the question that one is immediately confronted with when considering the new MacBook Pro. This top of the line laptop is the new bad boy in Apple’s lineup. That said it comes with a price tag to match its feature set and attitude.

 Read More