Review

Mar 21, 2014 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review
Apple_healthbook

Rumors and images are are rapidly crossing even the broadest of internet canyons with Apple’s highly rumored forthcoming HealthBook App. Apparently, anything from weight to oxygen saturation can be monitored. How? Many solutions may require a third party device, but others are speculating an Apple iWatch will be able to accomplish all but the most technical of health related items. With the Affordable Care Act (ACA) in full swing, questions are being asked as to whether the health and mobile high-tech convergence will be the next area of big Government regulation?

U.S. Congressional House member Robin Quain, at a recent campaign rally stated; "Health care is often a critical life or death matter, and health care solutions are something the American people expect to work, and work properly all the time. Simple startup companies working out of their garages cannot just develop and launch healthcare applications for a smartphone or smartwatch without being accurately tested and regulated as safe."

 Read More

Mar 19, 2014 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review

Airdrop_almostYesterday, Apple released the latest beta version of OS X, 10.9.3 to developers. The newly minted code focuses on graphics and audio driver enhancements, finalizing bug-free support for 4k (UHD) displays.

Really? That's the focus?

 Read More

Feb 15, 2014 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review

Ios_in_the_car_eyes_free

I recently made my annual pilgrimage to the Portland International Auto Show and walked away with the same conclusion I arrived at year ago, and the year before, and the year before that — the auto industry grasps technology about as well as a first grader understand astrophysics.

 Read More

Jan 6, 2014 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review

Crystal_ball

Today Apple announced they will be releasing their financial information and holding their quarterly financial conference call on Monday, January 27, 2014 at 2:00 Pacific Time.

 Read More

Dec 21, 2013 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review

Apple_happy_holidays_boyIt's amazing really, how one commercial has garnered so much attention in such a short amount of time. Many consider the past few years as the desert of broadcast TV commercials, and then there's Apple, continuing (as cliché as it has become) to think different.

Apple's Happy Holiday ad, launched earlier this week, has seen a wide range of reviews. Criticism of Apple encouraging antisocial bahavior, to rave reviews from all corners of tech community have been blanketed the web, but make no mistake, the ad is amongst the boldest strikes since Apple's famed "Hello I'm a Mac" ads.

 Read More

Dec 17, 2013 — by: Karl Johnson
Categories: Review

Icloud-logoApple cleaned up iCloud’s many syncing bugs with iOS 7 and OS X version 10.9. Not all of them are gone, but enough to make it reliable. Now that iCloud is a stable solution, developers have been adding iCloud features to their software. As iCloud continues to grow in popularity, users will be asking for more features.

There are lot of features that Apple could add to iCloud. What are the most important ones? Which features will have the most impact on the users? Here are three features that would have the most impact.

 Read More

Nov 25, 2013 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review

Differnet_users

Ever read an Android blog or an iOS blog? How about watching people trying to decide which smartphone to purchase in a Best Buy, an Apple or Carrier retail store? It's quick fun, if not shocking, but much more than that, it is quite revealing. 

 Read More

Nov 14, 2013 — by: E. Werner Reschke
Categories: Review

Ipad-air_ipad-miniEvery so often Apple does this — they launch two products that occupy the same space and the difference between the products is so minimal, it is difficult to decide. Historically, Apple has had this dilemma involve the Mac Book Air versus Mac Book Pro. This choice was most difficult before retina displays were available on the Pro models. With that feature (coupled with price) there is now enough differentiation between the Air lineup and the Pro models that it makes choosing between the two an easier road to navigate.

However, the new entry into Apple’s “difficult to choose” category is between the new iPad Air and the new iPad mini with Retina display. First off, both are new iPads. You are not buying old technology with either choice. The iPad mini with Retina display and the iPad Air both use the same über fast processor and both have Retina displays containing the exact same resolution. Both come with iOS 7, the same camera technology, the same battery life, and both come in the exact same color schemes. So what is different to help you decide which to buy?

 Read More

Oct 28, 2013 — by: E. Werner Reschke
Categories: Review
Weekend-with-bernie

I finished a big project Friday morning, so thought I'd start my weekend a little early. And what better to do than to spend it with Mavericks — OS X Mavericks that is. And unlike the 80's cult-classic movie Weekend WIth Bernie, Mavericks was not dead, nor did I need to pretend it was alive. Mavericks held its own, quite well.

The download and install was painless. It seems even easier now that there is no payment involved (thanks Apple). The first thing I noticed was Safari. Wow it is fast — I mean really fast. I live in a rural area and my internet speed isn't the best. I always attributed slower web page loading to my internet speed. So does my slower internet speed appear to have been the bottleneck all these years? Well I thought so, until this weekend. Now web pages pop and are wicked fast (yes, I too remember Apple’s marketing for the Macintosh IIfx). I can't wait to get to my office where I have fiber speeds. Safari might start loading pages before I even click my mouse. In summary: Safari in Mavericks is worth the price of the download, even if Mavericks had cost money. Yes it that's good.

 Read More

Oct 25, 2013 — by: Mark Reschke
Categories: Review
Quentin_fottrell

Apple's new and revolutionary anti-pricing for operating systems, creative and productivity software isn't revolutionary or new, and it certainly isn't free. These are the claims from a slew of Microsoft apologists.

"Though users can cheer the free operating system now, the move also gives Apple more leeway to charge premium prices for its upcoming gadgets," stated MarketWatch's Quentin Fottrell. Morningstar research firm's Brian Coletto believes Apple will be charging a premium on hardware, making up for the giveaway of free software. "Apple has taken the strategy of giving its software away for free in order to improve the customer’s user experience and spur the purchase of premium hardware. It’s a clear contrast to Amazon, which appears to be selling its tablets at close to cost, in order to drive media and content purchases,” he says.

 Read More